Member Avatar for sammoto

So it's my first time trying to do a loop and I've come across something that I'm not experienced enough to explain... My program compiles fine, but after I enter my third number (variable "a", see code below) it just skips a line and does nothing. It just lets me type whatever I want for as long as I want, like so:

Enter a value for x0:
Enter a value for x1:
Enter a value for a:
sj
jd
d

j
wiw
mv
hello
why isn't this working...

sdf
j

That was from my Terminal window after compiling this program:

public class RootFinder {
    public static final double EPSILON = 0.00001;
    public static double function(double x) {
        return (Math.log(x + 1) + x);
    }
    public static double searchValue(double x0, double x1, double a) {
        double x = 0;
        boolean valid = (function(x0)<a) && (a<function(x1));
        if (!valid) {
            x = -1;
        } 
        else if ( (x0 <= -1)||(x1 <= -1) ) {
            x = -1;
        } 
        else {
            x = (x0 + x1)/2;
        }
        while (!(function(x)==a)||(Math.abs(function(x) - a) <= EPSILON)) {
            if ( (function(x0)<function(x)) && (function(x)<a) ) {
                x0 = x;
            } else if ((a<function(x)) && (function(x)<function(x1))) {
                x1 = x;
            }
        }
        return x;           
    }
    public static void main(String[] args) {
        java.util.Scanner reader = new java.util.Scanner(System.in);
        System.out.println("Enter a value for x0:");
        double x0 = reader.nextDouble();
        System.out.println("Enter a value for x1:");
        double x1 = reader.nextDouble();
        System.out.println("Enter a value for a:");
        double a = reader.nextDouble();
        double x = searchValue(x0, x1, a);
        if (x == -1) {
            System.out.println("No such value exists, try again…");

} else {
            System.out.println("The root of the equation is " + function(x));
        }
    }
}