Note: This is a server that is going to be used on a build farm, So 3rd party libraries are no use here.

I've been working on writing a python script that can be used to POST files on to a tomcat server (java), I finished writing the servlet and deployed it and to test its functionality I used cURL and the sever works fine , I was able to upload multiple files of various sizes , from 10mb to 1gb+, After that was done I started on the python module , I fairly new to python and this whole server thing , My python experience is about 2 weeks, so i'm still learning the tricks.

Here is the problem I'm facing , When I send the file to the server I receive a HTTP 200 , that means its successful , but the file is not in the uploads directory. My servlet accepts multipart/form-encoded data , so after some researching I managed to write one , I also use mmap to handle large file uploads.

After hours of looking at the code I decided to add in few print statements in the server so that I know whats happening , the uploading in the servlet takes place in a for loop , so when the program enters this loop I made it print out a message saying that its in the for loop , when I upload a file using curl I get this output , but when I use python I don't get anything

So here is my Python code , Keep im mind that I'm still learning this so there might be mistakes

import urllib2
import httplib
import sys
import os
import optparse
import mmap
import mimetools, mimetypes

def do_upload(options, args):

host = '127.0.0.1:80'
    selector = '/test_server/upload'
    url = 'http://127.0.0.1:80/test_server/upload'

if len(args) > 1:
        print "invalid format"

path = args[0].replace("\\", "/").rsplit("/", 1)[0]
    file = args[0].replace("\\", "/").rsplit("/", 1)[1]

print path 
    if not os.access(args[0], os.F_OK):
        print "Directory Doesn't exist"
        exit(1)       

os.chdir(path)
    f = open(file)

content_type, body = encode_multipart_formdata([file])