Novice working with C#. Opened a project file to commence lessons with the Head First C# programming eBook. When reopened errors were found. Images are uploaded to a microsoft skydrive folder:
https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resid=52B21D2F3F75A51A!1427

Hoping that someone experienced can stay with me until I can grasp each error and know precisely where to place the remedies. Ideally I would want guidance on the first of the five issues then proceed. The errors read as follows:

**1.The file C:\Users\maurice\Documents\Visual Studio 2010\Projects\Head First IDE Lab\Head First IDE Lab1\Form2.cs does not support code parsing or generation because it is not contained within a project that contains code

2.A namespace cannot directly contain members such as fields or methods

3.Type or namespace definition, or end of file expected

1. A namespace cannot directly contain members such as fields or methods

5 Type or namespace definition, or end of file expected **

As a complete beginner, I do not know precisely where to go to and how to remedy each of the above errors.

Additionally, I do no know the finer points of posting e.g. the code an inline code.

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

It sounds like your class definition is incorrect. You would have forgotten a { or } somewhere and so your class or methods don't properly close. A sample class would look like this:

namespace SampleNamespace
{
    class SampleClass
    {
        public void SampleMethod()
        {
            System.Console.WriteLine(
              "SampleMethod inside SampleNamespace");
        }
    }
}

One or more of the curly braces being missed would cause the errors you are seeing. Check everything is where it should be. Basically your namespace holds a class with {}, and a class holds your fields and methods inside a pair as well.

First error is telling you that Form2.cs isn't part of the project. I don't see it in the solution box so I'd say it's right.