First, i'm new to C and trying to teach it to myself so be gentle. All i'm trying to do is malloc a block of memory so that i can store a few strings. These strings are to be pointed at by an array of pointers so that as i increment the pointer, i point to the next word. My question is how come the block of malloc'd memory appears to contain only the 1st char of each string i'm attempting to strcpy?

#include<stdio.h>
#include<string.h>

int main()
{
    int nrows = 4;
    int ncols = 5;
    int *arrayptr;
    int **rowptr;
    int k, row, col;

rowptr = malloc(nrows*sizeof(int *));
    arrayptr = malloc(nrows*ncols*sizeof(int));
    for (k = 0; k < nrows; k++)
        {
            rowptr[k] = arrayptr + (k * ncols);
        }

strcpy(*rowptr,"d");
    strcpy(*(rowptr+1),"c++");
    strcpy(*(rowptr+2),"java");

for (row = 0; row < nrows; row++)
        {
            printf("\n%d         %p         %c", row, rowptr[row],*rowptr[row]);
            if (row > 0)
            printf("              %d",(rowptr[row] - rowptr[row-1]));
        }

for (col = 0; col < ncols*nrows; col++)
    {
        printf("\n %x     %c",arrayptr+col,*(arrayptr+col));
    }
}   

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Your types are wrong. Your compiler should have warned you about that. If it didn't, increase your warnings level - that will save you a lot of pain in the future.

arrayptr and rowptr should have types char* and char** respectively. Since you made arrayptr and int-pointer, your second for loop will iterate int-by-int, not char-by-char. So it's skipping over characters because ints are bigger than chars.

use

printf("size of char %d size of int %d",sizeof(char),sizeof(int));

bot pointer is always 4 byte no ?

maybe you can try to cast to char ?

by the way where is problem?

strcpy(*rowptr,"d");
    strcpy(*(rowptr+1),"c++");
    printf("ROWPTR+1[%s]",*(rowptr + 1));
    strcpy(*(rowptr+2),"java");
    printf("ROWPTR+2[%s]",*(rowptr + 2));

they print correct, no ?