Hello, thanks for taking the time to read this.

I'm working on (what should be) a simple, simple java program, I am very new to java so please bear with me.
I'm writing code with a method that takes an array of int values and determines if all the numbers are different from each other, that they are distinct.

Here is what I have so far:

public class Array
{
    public static void main(String[] args)
    {
        int[] numbers = {5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 1, 2};
        System.out.println("Checking array to determine if all numbers are different: " +
        compareValues(numbers));

}

public static boolean compareValues(int[] numArray)
{
    for(int i = 0; i < numArray.length; i++)
    {
        for(int j = 0; j < numArray.length; j++)
        {
            if((numArray[i] == (numArray[j])) && (i != j))
            {
                return true;
            }
        }
    }
    return false;
}
} 

My code compiles, but the result I get is false... when it should be true (because all the values ARE distinct). I feel like its all wrong!
@compareValues, here is where I am stuck. I am having much difficulty in creating for-loops. Am I using 1 to many for-loops? Should I be using for-loops?

If anyone could help and explain their reasons it would be very much appreciated!

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Yes, for loops would be the ones to use.
Can you explain what your logic for solving the problem is? You should work out the logic to use before writing any code. List the steps the code should take to solve this problem.

I am not sure that a newbie would understand what logic in solving a problem even though the problem is trivia...

Anyway, the problem lies in the for-loop condition and how you need to break out of the loop to return a value.

Let's talk about the loop first. You need to check each element against one another but itself. Each element has its own position. The position can be count from 0 up to n-1 where n is the total number of elements.