Hello! I just started learning C a few weeks ago and I'm having a problem with a program I'm writing

The program has to prompt the user for a certain number of values defined as NUM_VALUES, and then calculate the mean and standard deviation of the numbers.

Here's what I have so far:

#include <stdio.h>
    #include <math.h>

#define NUM_VALUES 5

int main ()
    {
       int userinput[NUM_VALUES], i, j, k;
       double mean, mean_divided, standard_deviation, temp, temp2;

printf("Enter 5 integers: ");

for ( i = 1; i <= NUM_VALUES; i++ )

scanf("%i", &userinput[NUM_VALUES]);
    /* Program will get input from user NUM_VALUE times */

for ( k = 1; k <= NUM_VALUES; k++)
          mean += userinput[NUM_VALUES];
          mean_divided = mean / NUM_VALUES;

/* Calculates mean of inputed values*/

for ( j = 1; j <= NUM_VALUES; j++)
          temp += pow(userinput[NUM_VALUES] - mean_divided, 2);
          temp2 = temp / (NUM_VALUES - 1);
          standardi_deviation = sqrt(temp2);

/* Calculates standard deviation of values*/
       printf("mean = %.3f, standard deviation = %.3f\n", mean_divided, standard_deviation);

return 0;

}

Right now the program is able to compile, but when I run it I'm not getting the results i'm looking for. For example, when I input 1 2 3 4 5, I should be getting mean = 3.000 and standard deviation = 1.581, but right now i'm getting mean = 6.000 and standard deviation = 0.000. I need help finding the error within the logic of my program.

Thanks beforehand!

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Line 14 is an example of your problem, for all your for loops:

for ( i = 1; i <= NUM_VALUES; i++ )

Which is wrong. correct is:

for ( i = 0; i < NUM_VALUES; i++ )  

You need to MEMORIZE this idiom! This is C, and C has zero based array!