Hi, I'm new to this forum and look forward to contributing. I am currently working on a project where I have to build a Java simulator which consists of three input lines of food, three processing machines and two packing machines. There are 2 processing machines dedicated to processing perishable foods and one dedicated to non-perishable. The packing machines can pack anything. I am currently developing the the machine classes, which cosists of a packMachine and a processMachine, which are both subclasses of machine, which can jam randomly with a probability of 0.001.

I am struggling to develop the Random function, along with making the machine objects interact with the food objects. I am wondering how to make them communicate when they are not hierarchally related to eachother.

I am new to Java, so just confused by the language-specific qualities. Any pointers or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Choose a unit of time, something that divides all the important time durations you will be dealing with, such as how long it takes to process food, to pack food, and to unjam a machine. Then all you have to do is make a loop where each iteration represents one unit of time and has each machine advance its state appropriately.

Then each machine is a finite state machine that takes food from queues, puts food into queues, and jams as appropriate. I can't imagine any difficulty in interactions between machines and food. Surely the food won't be doing anything to the machines, and once a machine has taken a food object from a queue it can call any methods that it likes on the food object.

Member Avatar for martija1

I am just confused how I can actually take a food object.. (new to java)