Hi i'm trying to study for c programming course midterm and there are few questions i have no idea why the answer is. could anyone describe why the answer comes out like these?

#include <stdio.h>
int main(){
    int i = 3;
    if (((i+=3)&&(i++>6))||((++i>8)&&(i+=3)))
        printf("Yes. i is %d",i);
    else
        printf("No. i is %d",i);
    return 0;
}

the answer for this code is "No. i is 8"

the second code is:

#include <stdio.h>
int main(){
    int i, a[6];
    for(i=0;i++<5;) a[i] = i*10;
    for(--i;--i>0;)
        printf("%d - %d \n",i,a[i]);
    return 0;
}

and the answer to this code is:
4 - 40
3 - 30
2 - 20
1 - 10

the third code is:

#include<stdio.h>
#define printmax(x,y) printf("the max of %d and %d is",x,y); printf("%d\n",(x > y ? x: y))
int main(){
    int i = 5, j = 10;
    printmax((i++),(j++));
    printf("i = %d, j = %d",i,j);
    return 0;
}

and the answer to this code is:
the max of 5 and 10 is 12
i = 7, j = 13

i'm not very experienced with C programming and so i'm trying to understand but i just can't :(((

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

These examples are hideous. But let's break it down.

(((i+=3)&&(i++>6))||((++i>8)&&(i+=3))

i starts as 3. Then it's immediately incremented by 3 (making it 6) and tested against 0. 6 is not equal to 0, so the first half of the && clause succeeds. i is not greater than 6 so the second half fails, but i still gets incremented to 7 afterward as the postfix increment is used.

Both sides of the || are tested because one might be true, so i is then incremented before testing the left clause of the right hand &&. This fails because i is now 8, and the test is asking if i is greater than 8. This is an && test, so the right hand clause doesn't need to be checked if the left hand clause fails, so i is not incremented further by 3.

Both && statements failed, and i remains 8, so your output is the body of the else clause.

for(i=0;i++<5;) a[i] = i*10;
for(--i;--i>0;)
    printf("%d - %d \n",i,a[i]);