Hi,

i am new to groovy language. I was wondering if there will be anyone who will be able to help me understand the below code.

static analyzeAPI(pkgname) {

def refs = Yaml.load(new File(output_base + "/${pkgname}_PackageRefs.yml").text)
    refs.Classes.each { 
      analyzeClassRef(pkgname, it.name)
    }

}

static analyzeClassRef(pkgname, name) { 
    println "=== Analyze class ${pkgname} ${name}"
    def filename = pkgname ? "${pkgname}/${name}.xml" : "${name}.xml"
    def page = readXml(filename)

assert page.head.title == "${name} | Android Developers"
}

Gratly appreciate a reply
thanks you

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Hi.

Sorry I only saw this now.

Let's take it line by line:

1. create a static method called analyAPI that takes a single parameter, pkgname. In Groovy, you do not have to specify the variable type, just the name, very much like in JavaScript.

2. Define a variable called refs that uses a static method load in the Yaml object to load and parses a file as text. This will load the Yaml script and populate the variable called refs with all the information from the script.

3. The variable refs will contain a reference to all the Classes and it will be a collection. Using refs.Classes.each allows you to loop through all the classes in this collection.

4. Using a static method caled analyzeClassRef, parse the package name and the class name. The "it" refers to the current class being served by the "each" iterator. The "it" is a convenient method for getting hold of whatever is being iterated over and is very handy in Groovy.

5. Declare our static method and specify the parameters. Again, note the abscence of types.