I'm fairly new with arrays but from my understanding it is set up as so:

datatype arrayname[#of elements] = {elements};

I was wondering why this code doesn't work

typedef char alphabet[26] = {'a', 'b', 'c', 'd', 'e', 'f', 'g', 'h', 'i', 'j', 'k', 'l', 'm', 'n', 'o', 'p', 'q', 'r', 's', 't', 'u', 'v', 'w', 'x', 'y', 'z'};

Any help is appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

remove the word typedef. I hope you realize that will create a non-null-terminated array of characters. You can't pass it to any of the functions in string.h.

A better and easier way to declare it is like this:

char alphabet[] = "abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz";

My program is required to use typedef construct to create array types.The goal of the program is to execute a caesar cipher. I planned on making the first array the alphabet, and the second array the alphabet + the shift...

so my goal is to write the array similar to how I wrote in the original post (if that is possible) then shift it. I was thinking of doing the shift in this manner:

alphabet[0+3] (if the shift is 3)

Is this the most efficient way to perform the shift?

by shift do you mean capital letters? if not, then I don't know what you mean by that.

If you must use typedef, then this is how to do it: for more info on typedef read this article.

#include <string.h>

int main()
{
    typedef char alphabet[27];
    alphabet alpha;
    strcpy(alpha, "abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz");

}

in a caesar cipher letters are shifted by a certain amount to encrypt the messages. For Example:

ABCDEFG shifted by 3 would be DEFGHIJ.

since A would be Alphabet[0] in my array, and D would be Alphabet[3], I figured I would try to add the shift like this :

Alphabet[0+shift]

however I can't even get the Alphabet[] array to even initialize.

If you want to shift the values in an array, you have to be careful what you're doing so that you don't lose anything.