So I've been working with C# for 2 weeks. That's not long at all, and probably and relatively to you, I have no knowledge at all.
None the less, when I'm using Microsoft Word, Skype, Mozilla Firefox. I can't imagine how this works. Apparently to get MySQL to work through C#, you need special connector. Plus, the scheme of program is always same, it consists out of multiple files including *.vshost.*, I don't see such files in Word, Skype of Firefox. I also don't see on how Firefox and Skype could've installed themselves that fast, if they need probably a lot of dependancies.

My question is. One gives a lot of knowledge of C# and Visual Studio 2013, would be able to reconstruct every "civil" program? After 10 years of experience could someone make clone of Skype, Word or Firefox? Or is it limited only to certain actions like Batch or JavaScript? If it is, which language should I switch to, to be able to learn to create alike things?

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

it consists out of multiple files including .vshost., I don't see such files in Word, Skype of Firefox

The vshost files are specific to your installation of Visual Studio for debug and settings information, they're not included in a deployment package.

One gives a lot of knowledge of C# and Visual Studio 2013, would be able to reconstruct every "civil" program?

One could create a decent facsimile, sure. You mention Skype, Word, and Firefox. None of these are written strictly in .NET.

Or is it limited only to certain actions like Batch or JavaScript?

I'm not sure what you mean by this, and therefore cannot answer.

One could create a decent facsimile, sure. You mention Skype, Word, and Firefox. None of these are written strictly in .NET.