Hey Guys,

I'm pretty new to containers, but need to use them for a project I'm doing.

I've figured out that I can use a map iterator to iterate through values stored in the map displaying the key, followed by the second value.

In my case, the key is anint and the second value is a nested vector of the form vector<vector<double> >.

My question is how would I go about using a the map iterator to display the contents of the second value? Would I need a for loop somewhere?

Here's the relevant code snippet.

map<int, vector<vector<double> > >::iterator miter;

for(miter = triangleMap.begin(); miter != triangleMap.end(); miter++)
         {
            cout<<"\nSet "<<(*miter).first;//<<", holding "<<(*miter).second;
         }

//The part that is commented out above is what does not work.

Thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Forget that you're dealing with miter->second for a moment. How would you display the contents of a vector? We know cout doesn't have an overloaded << operator for collections, so you're stuck with some variant of a loop. This comes immediately to mind:

for (auto it = v.begin(); it != v.end(); ++it)
{
    cout << *it << ' ';
}

Since this is a vector of vectors, you have a nested loop:

for (auto row = v.begin(); row != v.end(); ++row)
{
    for (auto col = row->begin(); col != row->end(); ++col)
    {
        cout << *col << ' ';
    }

cout << '\n';
}

Now replace v with miter->second, as that's your reference to the mapped vector object.

The idea here is to start with something you understand, then add complexity until you have the final solution that you're looking for.

I'm using C++98, which doesn't allow me to use the auto. What could I use instead?

vector<vector<double> >::iterator and vector<double>::iterator, respectively for the nested loops. Just like you're doing with miter, which is why I didn't mention it...