As I develop more and more for a living I have been trying to perfect my developing skills with personal projects in hope to expand my professional career, one of these is the concept of Polymorphism.

The last few projects I have worked on, I have this model where I have a TableLayoutPanel, that is a grid of custom UserControls. To try and start reducing redundency coding, I am trying to build base classes of both the Component and UserControl. One part of this is I have a function in the TableLayoutPanel that is used to add the custom UserControls to the table. The function looks as follows

/// <summary>
/// Adds a new Item to the table
/// </summary>
/// <param name="item">Item to Add</param>
protected virtual void Add (object item)
{
    Items.Add(new SelectableComponentBase(((SelectableComponentBase) item).ID));

Items.Last().Width = (this.Width - 20); //use 20 in case a scrollbar appears
    Items.Last().Anchor = (AnchorStyles.Left | AnchorStyles.Right | AnchorStyles.Top);

Items.Last().Clicked += new EventHandler(this.SelectableComponentBase_Clicked);

Controls.Add(Items.Last());
    Controls [Controls.Count - 1].Invalidate();

ScrollControlIntoView(Controls [Controls.Count - 1]); //scrolls down to the bottom (where the item is added).

if (ItemAdded != null) //lastly fire the event that the item has been added
    {
        ItemAdded(Items.Last(), new SelectableComponentBaseEventArgs(Items.Last().ID, Items.FindIndex(x => x.ID.Equals(Items.Last().ID))));
    }
}

As I mentioned, this adds a customer UserControl to the table, as well as some other code related to sizing, events, ext. Now my current problem here is that first line you see Items.Add(new SelectableComponentBase(((SelectableComponentBase) item).ID));.

Items is a property within the TableLayoutPanel, that looks as follows

/// <summary>
/// Get the collection of SelectableComponentBases
/// </summary>
[Browsable(false)]
[DesignerSerializationVisibility(DesignerSerializationVisibility.Content)]