Hi guys, I wonder if you can help.
As I've started as a programmer, I've been told I have to practice OO a bit more. I've done the theory, but I think I will have to take another look at it. , Above all though, I have to do exercises.
What I'm looking for is for suggestions: things I have to practice are:
-Inheritance
-Interfaces
-Polymorphism
-And in general anything to do with OO.
Ideally I don't really need to do any complicated exercise, even simple scenarios would do as long as I can put into practice the theory, printing some user input strings might be enough as long as I can implement 00 principles, so things like, an emplyoee hierarchy or something along these lines.
Also I know Im a bit weak when it comes to linking different classes together, and things like composition.
So, can anybody suggest simple situation/s I could use to practice?
I have installed the Spring Tool Suite but if I'm not mistaken I can use it to create ordinary java projects.
Any idea?

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

If you're just looking for ideas I've gone one at least one: a program to import (scrape I guess?) web sites like the steam store and amazon to collect meta data for different games (include a way to specify sites to get data from). Something like having an input box to enter a game or importing a one-per-line text file list (or CSV, whatever) and the program collects all the data from whatever sites it can find it on along along with screenshots and ratings.
Something like an generic game object and off of that genre, release date, rating, value (from price charts or etc), platform, system requirements etc. You could implement inheritance for creating different sorts of game objects and DLC as the child object. Then also a convenient export feature to JSON/XML/CSV.