I am new to java and trying out a question but I have no idea why it can't calculate my commission

public static void main(String[] args) {
           Scanner keyboard= new Scanner(System.in);// input form keyboard

double retail_price;
            double emp_num;
            char trans_code;
            double a =0.06; 
            double b = 0.08;       
            double commission;

System.out.println("Please enter the retail price");
         retail_price=keyboard.nextDouble();   
         System.out.println("Please enter your transcation code");
         trans_code=keyboard.next().charAt(0);

if (trans_code== a){
            commission= (retail_price*a);
         }
            else
             if (trans_code== b){
             commission= (retail_price*b);
             }

System.out.println("your commission " +commission);

}
    }

`

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

I'm assuming that the entered trans_code is to be either 'a' or 'b'. The problem is that you are then comparing transcode (which is either the character 'a' or 'b') against variables a and b, which equal 0.06 and 0.08 respectively. The comparison fails and you don't get the result you expect.
You want:
If (trans_code == 'a')

I'm assuming that the entered trans_code is to be either 'a' or 'b'.

I agree with hericles in his input assumptions and his solution. I will add that it is a good idea to display to the screen what the legal options are, like so:

System.out.println("Please enter a single character for your transcation code: either 'a' or 'b' : ");