Hi, I'm a newbie to C++. I use Windows XP Home Edition and VC++ .NET 2003.

I have just recently started creating large scale C++ projects with more than one file. I've been having troubles linking the files together.

I solved the problem by adding "/FORCE:MULTIPLE" to the command line, but the compiler still gives linker warnings. I don't feel satisfied just by cheating my way out.

The real source files are large, and I know that it is a linker error, so I created smaller files with a similar structure that give the same errors.

Here are the source files:

stdafx.cpp

#include "stdafx.h"

Untitled.cpp

#include "stdafx.h"
#include "MyClass.cpp"
#include "OtherClass.cpp"

usingnamespace std;

int main()
{
myClass Class;
otherClass Class2;

return 0;
}

MyClass.cpp

#include "stdafx.h"

usingnamespace std;

class myClass
{
public:

myClass();

int variable;

void function1();
void function2();

};

myClass::myClass()
{
variable = 0;
}

void myClass::function1()
{
variable = 1;
}

void myClass::function2()
{
variable = 2;
}

OtherClass.cpp

#include "stdafx.h"

class otherClass
{
public:

otherClass();

int variable;

void function1();
void function2();

};

otherClass::otherClass()
{
variable = 0;
}

void otherClass::function1()
{
variable = 1;
}

void otherClass::function2()
{
variable = 2;
}

And here are the errors:

MyClass.obj : error LNK2005: "public: __thiscall myClass::myClass(void)" (??0myClass@@QAE@XZ) already defined in Untitled.obj
MyClass.obj : error LNK2005: "public: void __thiscall myClass::function1(void)" (?function1@myClass@@QAEXXZ) already defined in Untitled.obj
MyClass.obj : error LNK2005: "public: void __thiscall myClass::function2(void)" (?function2@myClass@@QAEXXZ) already defined in Untitled.obj
OtherClass.obj : error LNK2005: "public: __thiscall otherClass:0therClass(void)" (??0otherClass@@QAE@XZ) already defined in Untitled.obj