somebody help me pls...
my task is to search a value that matches to my csv file.

my csv file contents is like this:

0,"100","WA"
101,"201","BC"
202,"302","EC"

this should be the scenario.

enter value: 205
output: BC

pls include the codes.. i am just a beginner.. thanks in advance..

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

In your example if you enter "205" you will get nothing because there are no lines that contain "205" :) But I understand what you mean anyway.

>>pls include the codes
Please first post your code to show us the effort you are making to solve the problem.

I would read the file one line at a time using fgets() function. Then you can use either strstr() to see if the line contains the search string, such as "205" and if it exists print the remainder of the line.

Code the problem one small step at a time to help from getting overwhelmed with the assignment. First, write the program that just opens the file. Get that to compile and work correctly. Then add to it the code needed to read each line using fgets(). Once that works you can continue with the reset of the assignment.

pls send me a sample program with syntax in c++ so that i can study the program.. pls help me.. i am just a beginner and using c++ just 3 days ago. i hope you understand.. thanks..

In your example if you enter "205" you will get nothing because there are no lines that contain "205" :) But I understand what you mean anyway.

>>pls include the codes
Please first post your code to show us the effort you are making to solve the problem.

I would read the file one line at a time using fgets() function. Then you can use either strstr() to see if the line contains the search string, such as "205" and if it exists print the remainder of the line.