after hours of trying (im really new to C++), i got a program to run that will find the mean, median, mode, and standard deviation of an array of numbers. However, if there is no mode (every number only appears once), it just returns the first number for mode. if there is more then one mode, it just returns the first mode. ive tried using a few if statements, but it screwed up everything and wouldnt run. ::points down:: this way will run. any suggestions on what i can do to make it happen?

//MODE HERE
int modeIndex=0;
int modeFrequency=0;
int maxModeIndex=0;
int maxModeFrequency=0;
for(int i=0 ; i<length ; i++)
{
if(list!=list[modeIndex])
{
if(modeFrequency>1)
{
cout<< list[modeIndex] << " occurs " << modeFrequency << " number of times" << endl;
}
if(modeFrequency>maxModeFrequency)
{
maxModeIndex = modeIndex;
maxModeFrequency = modeFrequency;
}
modeIndex = i;
modeFrequency=1;
}
else
{
modeFrequency++;
}
}
// validate the last set of elements in the list.
if(modeFrequency>1)
{
cout<< list[modeIndex] << " occurs " << modeFrequency << " number of times" << endl;
}
{
}
cout<< "Mode is: " << list[maxModeIndex] << endl;

return 0;

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

the formatting is really horrible -- how did you get all those color code tags there? I just simply removed the code tags to make your code readable.

the formatting of the c++ is horrible, as in the xyntax and logic? or how it copy/pasted?

i just opened up the .cpp file and copy/pasted. visual studio automatically colors my tags like that.

are you sure ? I've done it hundreds of times without that problem. Probably some setting you have made in the editor.

can you please specify if you are talking about my actual C++ or how it appears on the firum. cause i dont know what you mean...

Oh certainly. It is how it appears in the forum -- no formatting and everything in the left-hand margin. Makes it really difficult to read and most people will probably just not take the time to fiture it out.