Why not just use mathematical functions to solve this?? :)

Basically we calculate numbe of digits with log10 and round upwards. Then we sort of devide the number into two parts, one with all digits up to start+count and same number but with everything between start and start+count canceled to zero. Now we can simply subtract these two numbers and get the digits we were after. Fast and efficient :)

It works!
Personally, if I was giving out the awards, I think I'd give to YOU!
What I like about it is that you kept it consistantly numeric without resorting to a string. Very nice...

I gave myself the same personal challange but was thinking along the (very convoluted) lines of outptting the long in some base, say hex, and then using a recursive algorithm to pull one digit at a time. I failed dismally...

I'm just a beginner.
I hope you are a professional at this so I don't feel so bad...

Okay, I'll put my more-polished entry up, for category three. I'm assuming valid input, because it's category three. It's pretty much my previous version with a bugfix. For example, it runs 180 times faster than pixl's version in the test program I wrote, after I removed the error checking from pixl's version and put the arguments in the right order, when compiling with g++ -O3. Also it works properly when x is a power of ten (pixl's doesn't).

unsigned long extract_digits (unsigned long x, size_t n, size_t i) {
  static const unsigned long tenpows[]
    = {1,10,100,1000,10000,100000,1000000,10000000,100000000,1000000000};

size_t len;
  if (x < 1000) {
    len = 1 + (x >= 10) + (x >= 100);
  }
  else {
    if (x < 1000000) {
      len = 4 + (x >= 10000) + (x >= 100000);
    }
    else {

if (x < 100000000) {
	len = 7 + (x >= 10000000);
      }
      else {
	len = 9 + (x >= 1000000000);
	if (n == 10) {
	  return x;
	}
      }
    }
  }

x = x / (tenpows[len - i - n]);

return (x % tenpows[n]);
}

Okay, I'll put my more-polished entry up, for category three....