Hello,

I am a C++ programmer who just got an associates degree. I went for an interview yesterday and did very well on a C++ technical interview. The company actually deals partly in recruiting and part application development. The interviewer told me that it would be a good idea to get a Sun Certified Java Programmer Certification and then I could be more marketable for a job being that things are geared more tword the internet now. They asked me to get back to them to let them know how soon I could get the certification.

I would like to know what the average time is to study for the Sun Certified Java Programmer Certification. Have any of you taken it?

Thanks again,

Andrew

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

hi alpha, i did take the course. But i knew that it depends on the hours specified for the course and its about 40-48 hrs.. So u cld take them in 5, 10 or 20 days as u specify.
Thats all i can provide u ;)
Wish u good luck

yes, you can cram the information into your head in a few weeks. BUT if you do that you won't actually know any of it, you'll have shortterm retention just long enough to pass the exam.
And without practical experience to back it up that knowledge is worthless anyway, possibly worth than useless as book knowledge without knowledge about its realworld application is extremely dangerous.

If you're serious about learning Java, rather than just cramming for the exam to get another acronym on your resume, take several months at least to seriously dive into the subject and learn not just the lines but what they actually mean and why they are as they are.