yeah, I see your point Bench, but I suggested Pascal because of the simplistic syntax and it will allow people to start coding straight away, allowing the learner to get to grips with a few basics before going on to OOP.

it's not impossible for a complete beginner to go to Java first and I absolutely recommend it - which is why I stated Java would be a good language to start with.

I should have been more specific about what i stated, if a learner starts with pascal it's not necessary to spend years on it, perhaps a couple of months to help them get a feel for a programming language and so they don't feel so 'overwhelmed' at first, also don't forget society has changed, we are in a results society whereby individuals want things done 'NOW' not yesterday.

I would rather start with:

uses crt;

var
num1 : integer;
num2 : integer;
sum : integer;

begin
sum := num1+num2;
writeln('Total = ', sum);
end.

than:

public class sum
{
int num1;
int num2;
int total;

public static void main(String[] args)
{
total=num1+num2;
System.out.println("Total = "+total);
}
}

why not just start with C++

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;
int main ( void )
{
    cout << "hello world";
}

or VB6

sub main()
msgbox "hello world"
end sub

> Java would be nice if Sun actually helped organize and certify the
> stuff that’s scattered all over the net.
I wonder whatever you mean by this...

so do I... Guess he wants Sun to take over every single project and company that has anything to do with Java and consolidate everything into a single massive package.

Why that would be required to make Java any good while it's obviously not required for someone to do that to make C++ or C good baffles me though.

But it baffles me a bit less than someone recommending VB6 as a serious language to learn, not just at this stage when it's no longer supported by even its creators but at any time at all.

Hey, is the Java VM written in C++ ?

Member Avatar for iamthwee