Okay, i am very new to Visual C++ and i understand the design and stuff but what i don't get is where do you put the actual c++ code to tell each thing what to do?

And by the way does anybody know a good visual c++ tutorial??

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Assuming you have VC++ 2005 Express: First you have to create a project -- File --> New --> Project. After creating a console project the IDE will create a few files for you, including <project name>.cpp and .h. you can edit the <project name> cpp file to include whatever you want, and you can add new files to the project if you wish. Then to compile just select menu items Build --> Build Solution.

Yea i know that but how do you for example assign a button to quit the application or if you want to make a calculator how do u do that?

You have to download the Widows SDK and follow the setup instructions that are posted in the download page. Then take a year or so to learn how to write windows programs. Here is a very simple tutorial to get you started. But it would be a lot simpler to learn CLI, C# or even VB. I just don't consider C and C++ to be a very good languages for writing new MS-Windows programs. With Visual Studio 2005 (and future versions too) you can mix and match the different languages to create one program -- such as CLI or C# for the forground windows stuff and c++ for the more difficult background tasks.

Sure, VB is good for writing MS-Windows

To answer the question though, I believe if you highlight in design view, the item you wish to add code to, and then go over to source code view, you will be right at the place where you want to be. It's been a while since I've used the visual C stuff from Ms, but, I'm pretty sure that's correct.

thanks guys ;)

another question tho, What would you consider as a good language to write windows programs which is also begginer-friendly?