o.k., so as i stated in my first post, I'm very new to this, and not very good at it. I have been able to get though the labs up to this point. But I am having some issues with my final lab. One thing I want to make clear is I dont want someone to just do the work for me, I need to be able to understand what it is I'm not getting so I can go on to the next course and not be completely over my head.

This lab is to put together a "Mastermind" game (if you know what that is, this is the first time I've seen it, but I think I understand the idea behind it) To do this, we were giving the code to make the random four letter key, and the right libs. (<ctime>, <cstdlib> and <string> to add to the usually <iostream>) I've been able to get to the point where I can get the input for someone, have it stored (in this case as "size") but I'm fairly lost as to what to do from here. I know I need to make a loop (the user can only have 8 guesses to get it right) and some way to add this guess to a string and tell the user how many of the 4 they got right. I'm just not quite sure how to do this? Can you even add a string to while loop?

I'm sorry if this isn't making much sense, its finals week and I've been studying like mad. If you dont understand, by all means, just ignore me ^_^. If however it does and you dont know how to explain without just doing it for me, maybe you have a link that I could use?

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

I don't really understand. Here it is what I am understand so far:
+ First, we need to generate 4 random letters word.
+ Player can only guess one letter for 8 times.

For example:
(computer generate this letter hstd)
Guess this word ****
Input your letter: o
There is no letter o in this word.
Input your letter: t
You have found letter(s) in this word.
The word: **t*

Am I right?

I don't really understand. Here it is what I am understand so far:
+ First, we need to generate 4 random letters word.
+ Player can only guess one letter for 8 times.