Hi all

I am a beginner and i was wondering can we write a code in PHP by which we can enter keyword in search box of any website and submit.

so there will be 2 inputs to this php function:

function enter_keyword($website_url, $keyword)
{

}

It will be a great help
thanks in advance

dnewshelf commented: seach bos +0

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Are you talking about a 'web page' or an entire 'web site'. Because with a webpage you can just use file_get_contents() to retrieve the data then use regex to find the keywords. However, if you are talking about a 'website' or network of pages then that will require a bot that indexs the website to a database and the search form would check the database. Both ways I can help you just need to know which one.

Are you talking about a 'web page' or an entire 'web site'. Because with a webpage you can just use file_get_contents() to retrieve the data then use regex to find the keywords. However, if you are talking about a 'website' or network of pages then that will require a bot that indexs the website to a database and the search form would check the database. Both ways I can help you just need to know which one.

Hi cwarn23

thanks for the reply
following needs to be done::

1.) I want to send a keyword for eg: 'knowing' to website for eg: "http://stagevu.com/" search box and submit it.

2.) then i want to return the url of first result from the result page.

i know that (2.) can be done using CURL but what about first.

thanks again for taking out your time for replying
jyotiu

Although you didn't entirely answer my question (scan the website or single webpage) I will assume you want to scan the website in which case will require a bot. I have recently written a bot to scan for site security holes and the bot template is as follows:

<?
set_time_limit(0);
function domain($domainb) {
	$bits = explode('/', $domainb);
	if ($bits[0]=='http:' || $bits[0]=='https:')
		{
		return $bits[0].'//'.$bits[2].'/';
		} else {