Hello All,

I'm sure this is an easy one for you all, but pardon...I'm kinda new at this.

What I'm trying to do is store a URL in a SQL table using a text field. This is working successfully and as planned.

The heart of the issue:

I have 200 products, each have 4 different files to associate with that product (drawings...dwg, pdf, igs and dxf files) that I need to direct our users to.

I plan on placing all the files in the same directory so structure won't be a problem, and I hope to use the value from the database to identify the filename via variable.

How would you suggest doing this in a feasable manner? I could type each url out (which is about 100 char ea) * 800 files = 8,000 characters (aka chances for a typo).

Is there a way I could copy/paste to each of the cells in the DB a script or a way of pulling the value and inserting it into the <a href> statement?

<a href="down.xyz.com/.["Products.ColumnName']"></a> <-- something like that?

Jon

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

I plan on placing all the files in the same directory so structure won't be a problem, and I hope to use the value from the database to identify the filename via variable.

How would you suggest doing this in a feasable manner? I could type each url out (which is about 100 char ea) * 800 files = 8,000 characters (aka chances for a typo).

When you say "How would you suggest doing this", what does the word "this" refer to? You already say you have a ProdNum field in some database table to refer to a filename. So... what's the question?

Type each URL out? Why? Where? You say the URL is already in the database.

Is there a way I could copy/paste to each of the cells in the DB a script or a way of pulling the value and inserting it into the <a href> statement?

" Is there a way I could copy/paste to each of the cells in the DB a script" is not a meaningful sentence fragment.