Hi there,

I've been using PHP and MySql for some time now but I am quite new to Javascript.
I would like to know how it is possible to insert data stored in a MySql database into Javascript code.
For exmple, I am working on a travel guide site and would like to have a Google map for each location that is featured. I want to store the map grid reference for each location in the database and insert that value dynamically into the Google Maps code when a specific location is requested by the user.

Anyone have any ideas how this can be achieved?

Many thanks,

Simon

Hi there,

I've been using PHP and MySql for some time now but I am quite new to Javascript.
I would like to know how it is possible to insert data stored in a MySql database into Javascript code.
For exmple, I am working on a travel guide site and would like to have a Google map for each location that is featured. I want to store the map grid reference for each location in the database and insert that value dynamically into the Google Maps code when a specific location is requested by the user.

Anyone have any ideas how this can be achieved?

Many thanks,

Simon

Your can write some JavaScript variables into the JavaScript code embedded in the HTML Document:

Assume you have a db table called config with the columns: name, value.

<script>

var configs = {}; // config object

<?php

$array = $db->getResultArray('select name, value from configs'); // pseudo funciton that gets database results in an associative array
foreach($array as $name=>$value) {
echo "configs.$name = '$value'\r\n"; // configs.name = 'value';
}

?>

// the rest of your js

// example function
function getConfig(name) {
return configs[name];
}

</script>

The JS empbedded in your HTML document should look like:

<script>

var configs = {}; // config object

configs.name = 'value';
configs.name2 = 'value2';
// etc.. etc...

// the rest of your js

// example function
function getConfig(name) {
return configs[name];
}

</script>