HI guys,

I need to create a windows service that runs a constant ping request to a list of servers and puts the data back into a text file for each server. It will read in from a text file with ip addresses in. It will also need to do other things but this is where i want to start. Now i don't want it written for me i just would like some helpful tips. I have never programmed in c# before and so dont have a clue. Got this of a microsoft website understand it but its still not that helpful. Cheers in advance for any help. Also it gives me the impression that only one thread can run at a time i need to ping around 20 servers at the same time is this possible it must be?

using System;
using System.Threading;

public class Worker
{
    // This method will be called when the thread is started.
    public void DoWork()
    {
        while (!_shouldStop)
        {
            Console.WriteLine("worker thread: working...");

}
        Console.WriteLine("worker thread: terminating gracefully.");
    }
    public void RequestStop()
    {
        _shouldStop = true;
    }
    // Volatile is used as hint to the compiler that this data
    // member will be accessed by multiple threads.
    private volatile bool _shouldStop;
}

public class WorkerThreadExample
{
    static void Main()
    {
        // Create the thread object. This does not start the thread.
        Worker workerObject = new Worker();
        Thread workerThread = new Thread(workerObject.DoWork);

// Start the worker thread.
        workerThread.Start();
        Console.WriteLine("main thread: Starting worker thread...");

// Loop until worker thread activates.
        while (!workerThread.IsAlive) ;

// Put the main thread to sleep for 1 millisecond to
        // allow the worker thread to do some work:
        Thread.Sleep(1);

// Request that the worker thread stop itself:
        workerObject.RequestStop();

// Use the Join method to block the current thread