Hi.

I need help with defining on which monitor a given form is to be presented. I know I can discover how many monitors a computer has with screen.MonitorCount. But I haven't found yet how to change the settings. For example, I'd like to have a one-form application to run on a secondary monitor from start-up.

Thanks.

Eduardo

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

In the DPR file before the main form is created, set the monitor to the one you want: application.mainForm.monitor := screen.monitors[ 1 ]; I've never done this before, nor have I ever had a dual-monitor system, so I can't say this will actually work... But I think it will.

Hope this helps.

In the DPR file before the main form is created, set the monitor to the one you want: application.mainForm.monitor := screen.monitors[ 1 ]; I've never done this before, nor have I ever had a dual-monitor system, so I can't say this will actually work... But I think it will.

Hope this helps.

Thanks, Duoas. As I don't a dual system myself, I will have to find one or try it on a client a few thousand kilometers away :) Do you think I can place that line of code in the creation procedure of the main and only form? Because then I could parse the parameters to see if the client has a dual-monitor system or not. A brute force solution would be to have two instances of the same small program, one for the primary monitor and another for running on a secondary monitor but I'd like to know for the sake of learning.

Thanks again

You know what, TCustomForm.Monitor is read-only. Sorry about that.

I've googled about a little and it looks like Delphi doesn't specifically provide a way to do what you want with the VCL (because the Win32 API doesn't either).

You'll have to set the left, top position of your form so that it is in the area of the desired monitor. For example:

constructor TForm1.Create(Sender: TObject);
  begin
  // Center the form on the third monitor
  with application.monitors[ 2 ] do begin