I am new to ASP.Net. I have Visual Studio.Net 2003 Professional running on Windows XP Professional. When I try to create a new Web Application in Visual Studio, I get an error message saying that a connection cannot be established with the server, "localhost" on my computer. However, when I was going to write this thread, I went to create a new project while I was online on the Internet, in order to get the exact message, and Visual Studio created the project successfully. I tried doing this with only Internet Explorer running, but not actually online, and that did not work. I cannot work and have to be on the Internet, since I am using a dial-up connection and would have no way of remaining online without being timed out. I haven't seen anything in any of the books about having to actually be logged onto the Internet while working on an ASP.Net project. What can I do to correct this problem?

Art

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Do you have IIS installed? Is the World Wide Web service? What does your event log look like? Try doing a repair install on VS.NET....

IIS and ASP.Net are both installed. When I look on the IIS console, the default web server is shown as running. I put a test aspx page on the localhost server and have run it from Internet Explorer. It displays todays date and looks like it is working properly. So, it looks like the localhost server is running properly, but Visual Studio keeps getting a message saying it isn't. I just reinstalled Visual Studio and get the same result. I only discovered that Visual Studio works when I am logged on to internet by mistake.

Art

Have you enabled fronpage extensions? What's your hosts file look like?

As I said, I am really new to this, so I am not sure that I uderstand your questions. I right clicked on the Default Web Site icon and selected Properties. I selected the Server Extensions tab, which I believe shows the settings for the FrontPage Server Extensions. It shows the following settings: