Been designing websites for years - tried to avoid anything MySQL/PHP - deep programming related. Quickly coming to a realization I need to give it a try... UGH. I tried to get my feet wet with MySQL 1 year ago (to the day, apparently... weird?) and was quite unsuccessful. Now, I really need to give it a second try.. I have been searching all over the internet today for assistance (probably troubleshooted 30-40+ different/annoying errors today) - keep coming back to these boards and found a LOT of great info today.. lifesavers, truly.

Ok - now I have a "No Database Selected" issue. I have tried every which way and just stuck.. I searched and searched - I can usually find an answer and troubleshoot my own way around - meaning, if I am asking for help: I probably A) lost my mind after 10+ hours of programming; B) Seriously need help C) All of the above...

Truly sorry if I am not making ANY sense or if this is a total beginners level issue.. I don't want to humiliate myself and hope everyone can be kind to a girl who is really trying! :) Like I said, I have only been attempting MySQL for about 10 hours (today...). Beginning to see double so I figured its worth a shot asking for help (can't hurt... right?)

I am TRYING to create a client login area for my lil' freelance company of mine {plus, great practice... but the end result - I pray it actually is worth it...}. I have tons of files but I think these two different will be the preliminary files to discuss for my issue (let me know if you think I need to include another...)

Clients login @ LOGIN.HTML (simple html username/pwd form...Here is the code I am using for LOGIN.PHP:

<?php session_start();

// Connect to the database
require_once('db.php'); 

// Set username and password variables for this script
$user = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST["username"]);
$pass = mysql_real_escape_string(md5($_POST["password"])); 

// Make sure the username and password match, selecting all the client's