Hello Danni Webbers:
Here is a way to save up to fifty percent on your water heating bill. I have been using this device for almost twenty years now, and it has never needed any maintenance at all. You will need a old plastic fifty five gallon drum, or something like it. Do not use steel, unless you can obtain a stainless steel drum. Also, you will need about seventy feet of one inch plastic pipe, several dozen ninety degree one inch pipe couplings, pipe cleaning solvent, and plastic pipe cement. Do not buy high temperature plastic pipe as the extra expense is not warranted. You will also need a two and one quarter inch steel or plastic bulkhead fitting, two rubber gaskets, and two bulkhead nuts. Paying top dollar for supplies will cost no more than one hundred dollars, and if your a good scrounger, you might get by for forty dollars or less.
Construction: At about four inches from the top of the plastic drum, using a magic marker place a dot, and place the bulkhead fitting in such a way that the dot appears in the center of the fitting when it is placed on the drum. Then draw a circle around the fitting, and cut a round hole for the bulkhead fitting that will act as a drain. A small electric jig saw should work nicely. In this case the drain will be located near the top of the drum. Now install the bulkhead fitting in such a way, so that the same length extends on both sides of the hole in the drum. For the heat exchanger to work properly, it has to be filled with water at all times. During normal use, the excess water will flow out of the drain from the top of the barrel.
The reason why you put the drain four inches from the top of the drum, is if you are using, say the shower at the same time as the washing machine. The water level will rise in the drum sightly, and could overflow the top.