As a software developer, my primary responsibility is to ship working code. I do this by writing code all day long. This is the job I was hired for. I work for a small company that struggles with identity. I feel that lately, they are struggling to find new clients and therefore are targeting alternative markets. The result of this is that they are now having me travel for a week a month or less to various clients onsite. I understand that doing this once is reasonable. However, I feel that if my company continues to put me in a position where I'm traveling and meeting clients, rather than writing code in a comfortable working environment, that this would be counter-productive.

How can I convince my boss that having me travel for extending amount of time to visit clients or prospects is not the most productive use of my time.

I don't see how travel is necessary when there are lots of telecommuting tools available to making communicating over long distances possible.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

How can I convince my boss that having me travel for extending amount of time to visit clients or prospects is not the most productive use of my time.

I'm not entirely sure that's the case, to be honest. At a small company you must wear many hats, simply because there aren't enough resources to for everyone to specialize. Just because you were hired as a developer doesn't mean you won't be asked to perform tasks that are not developing yet still fall within your skillset.

If you feel that you aren't being utilized to the fullest, I'd go talk to your boss about that rather than focusing on not wanting to travel.

I don't see how travel is necessary when there are lots of telecommuting tools available to making communicating over long distances possible.