I am very new to web development.i have heard about xmls in web deployment.Pls explain me why so mainy xmls like server.xml,config.xml,web.xml,context.xml are required.can not we combine them together in one.Why do we need them at first place.Do web servers contain parsers in them to parse xmls.Pls explain whole mechanism or provide some link to understand it.
Thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

>Why do we need them at first place.
It is better solution as you can jump to requered element of the document faster then with conventional text files that have to be first read and only after that searched. It is realy the structure of the file

<config>
   <parameter_1>
      <variable_1>
         <value>true</value>
      </variable_1>
      <variable_2>
         <value>false</value>
      </variable_2>
      <variable_3>
         <value>true</value>
      </variable_3>
   </parameter_1>
   <parameter_2>
      <variable_1>
         <value>false</value>
      </variable_1>
      <variable_2>
         <value>true</value>
      </variable_2>
      <variable_3>
         <value>false</value>
      </variable_3>
   </parameter_2>
   <parameter_3>
      <variable_1>
         <value>false</value>
      </variable_1>
      <variable_2>
         <value>true</value>
      </variable_2>
      <variable_3>
         <value>true</value>
      </variable_3>
   </parameter_3>
</config>

I order to find value of variable_2 of parameter_3 application will check for the child parameter_3 of config parent. It will reject any other chiles till it reach the one is looking or find none(this will result in error if not taken care of). Same process will repeat with variable_2 of parameter_3. This mean that application doesn't have to visit each child/node of the XML tree, therefore it become faster.

>why so mainy xmls