Hello Daniweb Members (and hopefully some SysAdmins out there),

I am beginning to consider future careers, I am currently studying for my AS and A2 (GCE) exams at Sixth Form and so I need to begin thinking about either a job or further education. I have always been interested in computers, and I've looked at a variety of jobs from programming to being a network engineer however one job which has stuck out as something which I think I would be most interested in is being a System Administrator.

Could someone please give me more information on what it is like in the real world, and not just what a text book says it is.

I have read that going to university isn't always required for a system administrator, and that further education in the form of certificates (Cisco, Microsoft, Redhat etc.) is sometimes preferred, how true is this?

In terms of languages I know, I can work in PHP, HTML, CSS, JavaScript and MySQLi and I am learning Python at the moment.
I know my way around Linux systems (both GUI and Terminal) and I've installed and managed countless Linux based servers. What other skills are desirable, I am not suggesting I have what it takes at the moment but what other skills would look good on a resume?

Thank you

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I had been a system admin for about 10 years managing Windows servers. From my experience, a system admin needs to be proficient in topics like...being able to understand customer requirements/ translate processing requirements into a hardware configuration, hardware managment, installing of OS, configuring, securing, monitoring, disaster recovery, upgrades, migrations, just to name things off the top of my head.

Some colleges/universities now have IT degrees (aside from CS or MIS) so that thpe of undergrad would be helpfull. Cerfications are nice, but experience is key.

Thanks for the reply JorgeM,