hi everyone, i'm new in web design.
i want to design my own template and maybe i'll use a cms in the future. So, what i don't like in joomla is that adapting a template for joomla is too complicated, isn't it? Any suggestions about good cms, which one is the best? and should i actually use it? Also if u know a good tutorial on how a good template is made, plz share.
Thnx

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Hi Acute. Actually there are a lot of CMS Software that you can use which are either free or paid. But if you are looking for a free CMS software then you should find out some open source CMS softwares. But always keep in mind that your web hosting service provider must have the requisite applications to support CMS installation. Most of the CMS software needs Php and Mysql 5 and above.

hi acute.

as ranvijay21 mentioned, there are alot of CMS around.

i have never tried Joomla myself, but i would suggest trying Silverstripe CMS

http://www.silverstripe.com/

they provide a full Open source CMS, with full tutorials on using custom made templates, and how to prepare them for the CMS.

A CMS is not always needed, I Would suggest using a CMS, if you are building websites for people, as quite often a websites content needs to be updated constantly, and using a good CMS provides users with no knowledge of coding the ability to update all the content on there webpages, through a "hopefully" simple to use interface

As for making your own templates, you can design them in Adobe Fireworks/Photoshop or any other graphics design software you care to use really, and then position the images using XHTML/CSS, but you must follow certain rules for your templates to work with a CMS, which should be explained in the CMS Documentation.

Hope this helps.

Member Avatar for diafol