Hi,

I'm not an expert in html - I understand it a bit but mainly used dreamweaver to do my code.

I have the website www.artaidafrica.org

I was wondering if anyone can help with the following issue:

1. If you go to http://www.artaidafrica.org/ssali-shop.html
2. You can scroll through the 9 pieces of artwork.
3. To buy one you click on the piece and it takes you to a payment page.

What I want to know if there is anyway of pre-filling the "type artist and title" box with data from the previous page. The artist is Ssali and the title is whatever is written in white text at the foot of the black artwork box.

Thanks

Adam

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hi Adam,

Your standard html doesn't have "variables" that can be used like other server side languages to pass between pages. It would really require using something like PHP to accomplish what you are describing. It might be possible with javascript but that is not my area of specialty.

It looks like each piece of artwork goes to it's own unique page when I click it. Why not just set the values for each one yourself and remove the option to edit the form all together? It wouldn't be too much work unless you had planned on adding a very large number of artwork to the site and then it may get a little over whelming at that point dealing with a bunch of individual unique pages for each art piece.

It would be simple if you were to use PHP though but then I would remove the option for field to be edited by the visitor.

Cheers.

Thanks pixelsoul. I don't know php at all to be honest. The problem is that I have hundreds of pieces of art. They only way I've separated them - to avoid having hundreds of paypal buttons - is by price. So I have a separate paypal button for each price from $50 to $1,200. You will see that depending on which piece you click on, it takes you to pay400.html or pay600.html etc. The user just needs to enter the title and artist and the price is fixed.