Hi All,
I'm a newbie.

I need to know if we can write a script that tracks the number of times an xls file was downloaded in a day.

I tried searching many books & websites, but of no use.

Kindly show me the way..

Please..

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

This ugly bit of PHP code works for what we want to do, which sounds similar to what you want. It should be a good starting point.

searchfile is the concatenation of the website's access logs
$key is the filename you want to check for being accessed.

$COUNT=shell_exec("cat searchfile | grep $key | wc");
shell_exec("cat searchfile | grep $key > searchfile2");
shell_exec("rm searchfile");
shell_exec("touch searchfile");

Hi Donald, Thanks a lot for your help.
But where can I find this file "website's access logs"?

Thanks

The webserver should keep track of it. I believe it should be in one of the Apache directories for Apache servers. I'm not too familiar with other servers to know how they work, but I suspect that they are similar in operation.

Do a search on the files on your server for something like, this is the format that they should be in for each time anything on your server is accessed.

xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx - - [06/Jul/2009:16:16:29 -0400] "GET /DIRECTORY/FILE.html HTTP/1.1" 301 360 "-" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)"

where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is the IP address from which the file is accessed and DIRECTORY/FILE.html is the file we're interested in people accessing.

LOOK HERE for more info on the webserver access logs.

Hi donald,
Thanks a lot for the reply.

Am not clear with the code mentioned by you.

How do I search this & where. Please advise..

Do you have FTP access to the actual web server? In the Apache HTTP server directory is where the logs are kept. See the link I posted for details on the log.