Hello all. This is my first post. I'm a software engineer with a general knowledge of SQL, but am no where close to an expert, let alone an intermediate.

My current issue is I'm working on a query which combines 2 tables:
TableA
UniqueID Auto Increment
ProjectName String
<Extra Data>
TableB
UniqueID Auto Increment
ForeignKey Points to TableA.UniqueID - NOT Unique
<Extra Data>

More than one record (ForeignKey) in TableB can point to the same record (UniqueID) in TableA.

I have a web page that's printing out all the entries in TableB in a simple table format. However, the <Extra Data> needs to be ignored and the cells "blacked out" if the ForeignKey occurs more than once in TableB. So basically I'm looking for a way to add to my SELECT statement so when I start reading through the recordset in ASP, there's a column for each record to say how many times that ForeignKey exists in TableB.

I hope this makes sense as I've had trouble trying to put it into words. Any help is greatly appreciated :-D

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I'll read your question again but can you please provide us with sample input and the output, it'd help me

However, the <Extra Data> needs to be ignored and the cells "blacked out" if the ForeignKey occurs more than once in TableB

It should be occur more than once in table b as the relationship is 1-to-many!!
I think you must support me with inputs and output..

Please suplly the original query. I find it a bit hard to imagine what the result must be.

The possible sollution solution is a "select ProjectName,extra_data) with a union, where the first sql statement should be "having count(A.UniqueID = 1) and the second should have "select ProjectName ,count(*) from .... having count(A.UniqueID) > 1"

You want something like:

SELECT columnyouwant1,...,columnyouwantn, rowcount = COUNT(B.ForeignKey)
FROM TableB AS B
GROUPBY B.ForeignKey

Load that into a temporary table. lets call it T. then you can select based on rowcount