Hello Guys;

I’m studying computer science on my third year. we are asked to develop a project based on data warehousing and business intelligence, using java language and postgresql.

the main thing that is expected from us, to create fact and dimension tables from existing tables and then fire simple queries on the fact and dimension tables.

now though i have read about fact and dimension tables alot, still i’m confused, i have some question if you are welling to help.

Below are questions:

1> What is the use of fact and dimension tables? is it because we have some tables that are not related with each other (stand alone tables), but all of them have a primary key, and fact table is used to relate these tables together (acting as a relation to a situation where the tables are related with each other with many to many relationship)?
2> Is the meaning of using fact table in above situation to act as a index in order to speedup the data retrieval or if any other special purpose of fact table please let me know.
3> the important thing is the real life example of creating fact and dimension tables, here below i will give me some tables, and see if you can help me with creating fact table for them:

Students Table
s_no (pk) ------ s_name---------s_add
1------------- - AA ----------- aa
2--------------- BB ----------- bb
3 ------------- - CC ----------- cc
4 --------------- DD ----------- dd

Teacher Table
t_no(pk) ------------t_name---------t_add
1 -------------- XX ----------- FF
2 -------------- YY ----------- GG
3 -------------- ZZ ----------- HH

Class Table
c_no(pk) ------------c_name ----------c_location
1 ------------------ -- MM --------------LL
2 --------------------- NN --------------VV
3 --------------------- OO --------------RR
4 --------------------- SS --------------YY

Fact Table

s_no (fk)--------t_no(fk)------------- c_no(fk)