Hi,
I'm new to coding (anything) and my manager has tasked me with developing a stats page for the IT dept. trouble ticket system (php helpdesk by EXOScripts.com)(MySQL database)

I have laid out the table on the page but just need to populate it.

the table has the following coloumns in it..

USER (staff member)
COUNT (Number of tickets clsoed relating to the dept.)
TICKET AVERAGE (Time taken on average to close the tickets.)

What i need is a piece of coding to average out the time taken over a user-definable period of time (timestamps)
i presume it would be something similar to

(sum=phpdesk_tickets.closed) - (sum=phpdesk_tickets.closed) / "$Count"

where $count is the count of the tickets relating to the user in a user-given period of time.

How do i get it to work out the average time per user and place it into the Ticket Average column??

As mentioned at the top i'm completely new to coding...

Thanx in advance for any and all advice...

Ok...

To start out with, have you used PHP before? Do you know how to connect to a MySQL database? I promise I'm asking with no prejudice, not trying to belittle... just want to know where to start.

The way I typically approach tasks like this is to try to break them into two parts: the data collection part and the data manipulation part. The data collection part asks "What data do I need and what's the best way to ask for it?" and the data manipulation part asks "How do I want to present this data to the user?"

Starting with the data collection part, you want to present the user with information about a specific staff member from within a specific date range. That means that you're going to have arguments in your SQL statements about the USER and about the date of the table entry. You'll probably end up with a SELECT statement such as:

SELECT * FROM `table_name` WHERE `USERID`='###' AND (`ENTRY_DATE`>='some_date' AND `ENTRY_DATE`<= 'some_other_date')