Ive been looking around and havent been able to find anything like this yet.. I am new to mySQL.

Im looking for a function like the "where" function of a query string.. but insted of it being exact i would like to select "where" datafield "contains" text..

example..

item is listed under multiple states
DB
id=1 name=apple state=FL, WI, CA
id=2 name=orange state=FL

when displaying results i would like to have apple come up when i select any of the states that it is listed under..

any questions?

Thanks,
-LTT

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

select name where state like '%s', $post['state']
mysql_query(sprintf("select name where state like '%s', $post['state'] "));

probably better if you take the commas out of your state tables
wa fl az mi
instead of
wa, fl, az, mi,
many schema give commas a meaning, and cannot be sure where the data will be interpreted and parsed
the space character is a sufficient divider

%s , $post['state'] could be written as 
$post['state'] 
replaceable parameters that I need to know which ones are numeric / text / blob to debug,  sql %s is literal text

@almostbob : Rather than posting the exact queries as answer, why not just mention that MySQL contains something like 'LIKE' and then maybe point him towards the documentation page for the same and then let him do the further tasks, such as the syntax botheration for MySQL, PHP etc. Wouldn't the OP learn more things with this approach ?

most do not want to be told rtfmits easier for me its just another line of code, that I have in memory, references I have to waste my time looking up

most do not want to be told - rtfm

Then such people aren't worthy of telling anything at all. Because this community attempts to nurture an environment that makes people learn while helping them. Giving away readymade answers just because someone would not like you telling him "go-read-the-manual", isn't the right approach.