Hello Experts,

I am fairly new to MS SQL Server 2005. I am trying to create a table where a column has the restriction of allowing alphas only.

I know how to achieve this in Oracle using String functions. But am not able to do so in MSSql.

The replace() function searches for the complete search_string to be present, as oppososed to Oracle's translate() function.
Please give me a hint if this can be achieved through inbuilt functions.

Any pointers towards using RegEx are also requested, if the same can be achieved using RegEx.

PS: I have a remote ms sql 2005 db, which I would access through java.

Thank you.

Regards,
HKansal

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Member Avatar for Geek-Master

Most likely you will not be able to do this using a simple insert or update sql statement, so you will need to create a stored procedure to handle this task. I'm not exactly sure what functions exist to detect non-alpha values, but most likely you will want to roll-back any request that doesn't match your criteria. Since you will be interfacing the database using Java, I would recommend putting the validation code in Java.

Thank you for the reply Geek-Master. :)

If I elaborate, I would like to learn something to facilitate my task at DDL. Eg:

CREATE TABLE tbMyTable(
        onlyAlphaField      VARCHAR(40)
                                    CHECK     onlyAlphaField     
                                    LIKE  'expression'
)

Yes, via java I can and have implemented the requirement and I can ensure no mistake is made. But let us say I have no java or anything else at hand, only the db.

I would like to learn doing this.

Thank You.

Regards,
HKansal