HI
I am very pleased to join this forum

I am new to SQL programming , I am facing a challenge
I need to copy the data from one table in one sql server to the same table in enother SQL Server

From Server A table (Employee) To Server B Table (Employee)
Can anybody suggest which way is the best to do this

Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Hi Lido98 and welcome to DaniWeb :)

This can be done in SQL Management Studio in a few easy steps:

• First of all, you need to connect to Server B.
  • Once connected, you need to link Server A to Server B. In SQL Mngmt Studio 2005, this can be done by right-clicking Linked Servers under the Server Objects field and adding the new linked server.
  • Then you need to run a query similar to the one below.
INSERT INTO ServerB.DatabaseName.dbo.Employee
(SELECT * FROM ServerA.DatabaseName.dbo.Employee)

Where ServerA is the server name of Server A, similar for ServerB and DatabaseName is the name of the databases on each server. I should also point out that if the Employee table has an auto increment field and you want to preserve the order of this field, you need to set auto increment off for the ServerB Employee table before you run the insert and reset it to on when you have finished. Let us know if you need to do this and we'll show you how.

Anyway, hope this helps :)
d

Hi

Thank you for the suggested solution

I will Try it on monday and get back.

cheers.

Hi Lido98 and welcome to DaniWeb :)

This can be done in SQL Management Studio in a few easy steps:

• First of all, you need to connect to Server B.
  • Once connected, you need to link Server A to Server B. In SQL Mngmt Studio 2005, this can be done by right-clicking Linked Servers under the Server Objects field and adding the new linked server.
  • Then you need to run a query similar to the one below.
INSERT INTO ServerB.DatabaseName.dbo.Employee