Hello all!!

I wonder if anyone can help me and I hope I am posting in the right place, forgive me if not.

I have a fairly complicated scenario but to simplify it, I have a Customer table which is connected to Order table.

Staff members can be customers and they get staff discount for their orders.

How do I design my tables to show this? Do I store the same staff data again in Customer table or is there a way these can be connected. N.B. Extra data is collected about staff.

May be the solution is very simple and I am missing it because I thought too much about it, so ANY suggestion is very welcomed :)

MANY THANKS!!

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hi little B,

I'm no expert but if you add the names of your staff who are also a customer in the customer table and add a field/column "STAFF". You can set this as a flag for "yes or no". If flag is Yes, then you can use this criteria in the calculation for discounts.

Hope this helps,
Funkie

I would recommend the following partial database structure:

People: Id, Name, Address, Etc...
Client: Id, PeopleID, Etc...
Staff: Id, PeopleID, Etc...

The People table will store basic info about each person. Any staff specific information will be stored in the Staff table and any client specific information will be stored in the Client table. This structure will reduce the redundancy (each person is recorded in the database once, so if someone moves or changes his/her name, the data needs to be changed in only one place). Also, you can determine if a Client is a Staff member by joining the Client table to the Staff table on the PeopleID and checking if Staff.PeopleID is null.

My suggestion certainly adds a layer of difficulty in designing and programming the database, but it does adhere to the rules of normalization and, in the end, will make things easier for the end-user.