Hi, I'm having trouble with writing this statement as an INSERT function instead of UPDATE.

$sql = " UPDATE tbl_category 
	SET " . ($cat_parent_id == 0 ? "sub_cat_name = '$name'," : "cat_name = '$name',") . 
	"cat_description = '$description', cat_image = $catImage
	WHERE cat_id = $catId";

Sorry if this is a noob question I'm still quite new with MySQL.
Thank you for any help.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Hi, I'm having trouble with writing this statement as an INSERT function instead of UPDATE.

SET " . ($cat_parent_id == 0 ? "sub_cat_name = '$name'," : "cat_name = '$name',") . 
	WHERE cat_id = $catId";

Sorry if this is a noob question I'm still quite new with MySQL.
Thank you for any help.

Could we see the syntax? Right off the top of my head, I know it goes INSERT INTO table VALUES (field1, field2, field3, etc...) after connecting to server. What error are you getting from php?

You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near ')' at line 2

That's all I get.

. ($cat_parent_id == 0 ? "sub_cat_name = '$name'," : "cat_name = '$name',") .

That is the part that I cant get to work in it. I'm not sure how I needs to be written inside of the SQL statement.

WHERE cat_id = $catId";

insert into tablename (`$cat_parent_id`, `sub_cat_name`, `cat_name`, soo on..) values ('0', '$name', '$name')
. ($cat_parent_id == 0 ? "sub_cat_name = '$name'," : "cat_name = '$name',") .

That is the part that I cant get to work in it. I'm not sure how I needs to be written inside of the SQL statement.

Try:

(($cat_parent_id == 0) ? "sub_cat_name = '$name'," : "cat_name = '$name',")

If it still doesn't work, echo the query after you built it, so maybe you can determine where it goes wrong.

what are those : and ? marks doing in there?

what are those : and ? marks doing in there?

That's called the ternary operator.

$somevar = (condition) ? (true case) : (false case);
// so
$test = true;