Hi, I'm a database novice and need a few pointers (please).

I've created two tables in MySQL:

CREATE TABLE `Users` (
`Username` VARCHAR( 20 ) NOT NULL ,
`Password` VARCHAR( 18 ) NOT NULL ,
`Secret_Question` VARCHAR( 100 ) NOT NULL ,
`Secret_Answer` VARCHAR( 100 ) NOT NULL,
`First_name` Varchar( 20 ) NOT NULL ,
`Surname` Varchar ( 20 ) NOT NULL,
`Email` VARCHAR ( 20 ) NOT NULL
)

CREATE TABLE `Phonebook` (
`Book_Name` VARCHAR( 30 ) NOT NULL ,
`User_ID` VARCHAR( 20 ) NOT NULL
)

I've created primary keys in both tables Table 'Users' the PK is Username and table Phonebook is 'Book_Name'.

What I've been looking at doing is after inserting a row into "Users", getting the username to cascade into "Phonebook" automatically. I'm not necessarily asking for the source to do it (although that would be nice) just a little guidance on where I can read about it. Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

This is not something I'd have even thought of trying... That's what transactions are for:

(pseudocode)
  begin transaction
    insert blah into table_1;
    if problem inserting bleh into table_2; then rollback;
  end transaction

Another way to think about this is "How do you know which Book_Name to use when creating a new user?" That decision is a separable concern, so it is sensible to have it in a separate bit of SQL; though it does belong in the same transaction.

I'd rather go one step back and ask: What for do you need a value in a table which can be computed by values from other tables? This is violating the normalization design principles. I you can replace the Phonebook table by a view, you should do so.

I'd rather go one step back and ask: What for do you need a value in a table which can be computed by values from other tables? This is violating the normalization design principles. If you can replace the Phonebook table by a view, you should do so.