Hi folks, this is my first post in danniweb, please excuse me if I am in the wrong place or the thread title lacks self explanation. I am very disoriented in the field since im new in MS SQL.

Before going into the problem, I'm going to give some context:

As an assigment, I'm required to create a small simple DB in MS SQL 2008 for a store. It is supposed to have 3 entities: Customers, Products and Sales. This is the design I came out with:

*Customer (customerId (PK), name, lastname, birthdate, birthplace)

*Customer-phone# (Customer-phone#Id(PK), customerId(FK), phone-number, phone#Id(FK))

*Phone# ( Phone#Id(PK), number, type )

*Products( productId(PK), name, department, expiration-date, price )

*Sales (saleId(PK), customerId(FK))

*Sales-details( sales-detailId(PK), saleId(FK), date, productId(FK), quantity, totalprice )

I was given four '.txt' files, each one of them have the data that I'm supposed to import into the database. I have one file with names, one file with lastnames, and three more files with product names: 'barsoap.txt' contain product names for soap, the same for 'mouthwash.txt', 'skincare.txt' and 'toothpaste.txt'.

Lets start with the names:

In my scheme, the customer name is divided in two fields: name and lastname. I have firstname.txt and lastname.txt with the data i have to import, the problem is that firstnames.txt and lastname.txt dont have the same amount of records, therefore, if I try importing them using the wizard, I wouldnt have enough names for the exeeding lastnames (I already tried it and thats what happened). My instructor told me I should be able to write a stored procedure that generates ramdom names combining the first and lastnames from the files, but I dont have even a clue on how to do so..

Now with the products: