Hi, I am a newbie in developing a website. i have tried to connect using mysqli conncetion
    Here is my simple code.

// db.php code

<?php

//$con = mysqli_connect("localhost","root","","bakery");
    $db = mysqli_connect('localhost', 'root', '', 'bakery');

// Check connection
    if (mysqli_connect_errno())
      {
      echo "Failed to connect to MySQL: " . mysqli_connect_error();
      }

?>

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
**//Sign up form in index.php**

<?php
                require('db.php');
                // If form submitted, insert values into the database.
                if (isset($_REQUEST['firstname'])){
                    $firstname = stripslashes($_REQUEST['firstname']); // removes backslashes
                    $firstname = mysqli_real_escape_string($con,$firstname); //escapes special characters in a string
                    $lastname = stripslashes($_REQUEST['lastname']); // removes backslashes
                    $lastname = mysqli_real_escape_string($con,$lastname); //escapes special characters in a string
                    $username = stripslashes($_REQUEST['username']); // removes backslashes
                    $username = mysqli_real_escape_string($con,$username); //escapes special characters in a string
                    $phonenumber = stripslashes($_REQUEST['phonenumber']); // removes backslashes
                    $phonenumber = mysqli_real_escape_string($con,$phonenumber); //escapes special characters in a string
                    $email = stripslashes($_REQUEST['email']);
                    $email = mysqli_real_escape_string($con,$email);
                    $password = stripslashes($_REQUEST['password']);
                    $password = mysqli_real_escape_string($con,$password);
                    $trn_date = date("Y-m-d H:i:s");