Hello, I'm a beginner and I created a log-in form in VB.net using Windows Form and configuring the Settings of the project. I need help on how can I prevent the user from accessing the other parts of the program if they haven't registered yet, as well as deleting the data of the account registered by the user.

Basically, I put a "Forgot your password?" button that the User can click on the Log-In form (main form). When clicked, it leads to the Password Recovery form that asks them security questions to help them recover their account. However, I want to make the Password Recovery form inaccessible if the user hasn't registered yet.

My main questions are:

• How can the program recognize that the user hasn't registered yet?
  • How can I have the option for the user to delete their account, to make the variables (Settings stuff) empty again? (For example, if they deleted the account, then they will have to register again before they can access other parts of the program.)

This is the code I used so the user couldn't log-in if they're not registered. However it isn't accurate yet because I haven't figured out what code to use if the User isn't registered yet. (If one of the My.Settings.Stuff is empty). I just used an Else statement which works but isn't what I really want.

Private Sub LogIn_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles LogIn.Click
        If username.Text = My.Settings.Username And password.Text = My.Settings.Password Then
            MsgBox("Login successful")
        ElseIf username.Text = Nothing Or password.Text = Nothing Then
            MsgBox("Login unsuccessful. Please fill up all fields.")
        Else
            MsgBox("Please register an account first.")
        End If
    End Sub
End Class