HI all I am new to C # and have picked up a copy of Sams teach yourself c # in 21 days. I hold a BSc in software design so I am not new to programming. However I am surprised at how similar c # is to java ( which i have studied for 2 years). I was just wondering if anyody could highlight the major differences for me so that I know what to look out for.
Many thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

also if anyone can suggest a decent IDE (a free one) that would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

There are major differences between java and C#
I give u some big differences
For example you can use only one public class in the same package in java context
in C# I can declare more than one public class at once in the same package
I can nest many namespaces(Packages in java context) in one name space, more than that I can declare two classes that hold the same name in the same namespace
ex:

namespace Firm
{
   namespace Finance
   {
       Public class Employee{TO DO: implement        the class} 

}
namespace Logistics
   {
       Public class Employee{TO DO: implement        the class} 

}

} 

In term of throwing exceptions for example
I can do this in C#

try{// CODE HERE}catch{}

something witch is not tolerated in java cath without any precision of what kind of (Exception e)
in the switch case statement for eg in C# I can use strings but in java we use only integers

switch (enumeration) 
{
    case “one”:
                  instruction 1;
    case “two”:
                  instruction 2;
    default: 
                  instruction 4;
                  break;
}

This framgment is not tolerated in java to do with java u must put 1 and 2 rather than "one" and "two"

there are many other major differences I u have MSDN insatalled browse to How do I and How Do I in C# -> .NET Framework -> Introduction to the C# and the .Net framework I advice u to read this article